top of page

DRAGONCORPSE RELEASE NEW SINGLE 'TERROR ETERNAL'

Terror Eternal is the newest single from Power Metal/Deathcore outlet Dragoncorpse. This was my first introduction to the band and their music, and on the strength of this song alone I am a fan.


The song feels larger than life. The soundscapes, bells, choirs, it all makes this song feel like a rock opera. The band seamlessly blends clean Power Metal with heavy, distorted Deathcore elements in a way I have never seen before. The flip between major and minor sounding passages, clean and distorted guitar tone, the dynamics are incredible and used to great effect. On paper it feels like something like this shouldn’t work, but it does.



The vocals are beyond impressive. Every time I thought I’d heard all they had, vocalist Mardy Leith pulled out another technique and crushed it. Being a huge Judas Priest fan, I was sold after the first epic high note. I continued to be surprised and impressed with his clean vocal range, his distorted vocal range, and even his ability to convey emotion in brief  spoken word sections.


 

I listened to the song before watching the video, which I would highly recommend. I pictured dragons and sword fights galore while listening to it on its own, so I was surprised to find the video has sock puppets, video chats, a sing along with a bouncing head, and an Otamatone. I actually laughed out loud at the smash cut to bassist Noah Nikolas Laidlaw playing in a graveyard.


I love things with a sense of humour and I love bands that don’t take themselves too seriously. If the amazing track hadn’t won me over already, the video would have sealed the deal.


 

You can listen to the song and check out the video below! Be sure to follow the Dragoncorpse socials/join the discord to keep up with the band!







Instagram - @dragoncorpsemetal





-Charlie Sackett

65 views
SCREAMS-BANNER.jpg
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Telescopical IG
  • White Instagram Icon
  • Facebook - White Circle
bottom of page