top of page

EVERGREY RELEASE NEW ANIMATED VIDEO (REVIEW) - WATCH & LISTEN



Save Us by Evergrey had me hooked within the first few seconds. All it took was a snippet of clean vocals and one panel of comic, and I knew I had to write about it.


It took me back to everything I loved in high school. It is moody and soulful with a driving edge. The vocals and the keys have a delicate, vulnerable sort of cadence to them, going well with the theme of the lyrics, while the distorted guitars and driving drums made it clear that ‘save us’ is not a request but a demand.


I’m a sucker for clean vocals. I love a good growl, don’t get me wrong, but in heavier genres for some reason it always feels refreshing to hear someone singing. I love the layering of harmonies in the chorus.


The different voices on the keys are really effectively used. The strings beef up the verse, the bells add that vulnerability to the chorus that I really like. It’s a whole other dimension to the song that makes it very dynamic.


What I really want to gush about is the video. I’ve drawn comics, I’ve used After Effects, and I know how much work must have gone into it. I’m so impressed. It’s such a simple concept, but it’s so much more engaging than just a lyric video.


I love the idea. I love the execution. I want to steal the idea and try to do it myself, which is the highest compliment I can give anyone.


You can check it out below!


Facebook, Instagram, Website Written by: Charlie Sackett

SCREAMS-BANNER.jpg
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Telescopical IG
  • White Instagram Icon
  • Facebook - White Circle
bottom of page